Captain America, Decisions, and Reasons

A notable long weekend it is for me, Saturday being free comic book day and a day out with my mom and aunt, a prequel to Mother’s Day, Sunday stay-in having my grandma also arriving for a simple celebration of the special day as a family, and finally today, Monday the election day also dubbed as #PiliPinas, when translated to English is a pun for “Choose, Philippines”, referring to the country as an entity that needs to make a choice.

Free Comic Book Day (2)

I must say that before the actual elections, the movie, Captain America: Civil War or otherwise hailed to be Avengers 3 or 3.1, came out. Before seeing the film, I have been hearing the question “Are you Team Captain America or Team Ironman?” being asked in social media and by my brother to me. Initially, I had an answer based solely on the superhero I liked better but upon watching the movie, I finally understood why the question was raised. It was not merely a question on who had better muscles (biceps and triceps in this particular case) or who was seen to be the cooler guy (for being a genius, billionaire, playboy, philanthropist). It was a question on whose stand do you side on? I was for Team Ironman, thinking that limits are put in place for a reason and that it is important to work within the bounds of what is allowed, whether legally or morally. After the entire movie though, I also understood Captain’s point of view. It also made me think that my answer may be the former but what will I do when I am placed in a real-life circumstance that will make me choose?

I guess both Steve Rogers’ and Tony Stark’s perspectives have valid arguments and we need to decide on the better points of each. We may not exactly be purely Team Captain America or Team Ironman specifically because we may have found points of convergence or separate positions where we are comfortable standing on.

This, for me, is quite relevant and timely especially for us here in the country because we also have to make a choice as to whose side we stand on – a big one at that, as it will affect our Motherland for the next six years.

In the end, we all have our reasons for voting for the people we marked in our ballots. We may not accept each other judgments but we can respect them and hope for the best after.

And to quote Captain America from Amazing Spider-Man #537,

Captain America Quote

I trust that whoever wins, especially in the top position, was meant to be there. I pray that he or she lead the country to the best of his or her abilities. This goes to the rest of those who will be put into seats of power. I had wanted to abstain but I had to find my reasons and weigh them before I shaded my final choice and submitted my ballot.

We have made our decisions. We have our reasons.

Leave a Reply

