The awkward turtle that learned to fly

First Day of Nursery School

Here I am, on my first day of school ever. My mom took this picture to commemorate this historic day of my life. Look at me though. I was not even smiling. I looked like an awkward turtle, quite unsure of what will happen inside that blue gate. I clutched my lunchbox with both hands as I looked at my mom. I was not scared but I was curious. She kissed me before I went inside and then she left.

I was just three years old at that time. Soon enough, I got to enjoy this place called school because I made new friends, learned new things, and played a lot. I even got the Most Helpful Award for always picking up the toys after playtime.

17 years later and here I am now, a college graduate.

Final Toga Photo

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. James 1:17

Because this education is a gift from You, my Lord. Such blessing. Such grace. I don’t deserve this yet You have given this to me. Everything I have achieved is all because of You. Thank You, thank You, thank You.

Thank You for loving me and for loving me unceasingly.

We love because he first loved us. 1 John 4:19

Thank you Mommy Terry, Daddy Bong, Franz, Ninang Issa, Daddy Love, and Mommy Love. Thank you for supporting me all the way. This is for you too.

Thank you to all the people I’ve met in college, all the professors and staff, and all the friends I’ve made apart from the old ones. You guys have taught me so much.

And thank you, Ateneo de Manila University. I can’t imagine myself being in any other place than where I am now.

AD MAJOREM DEI GLORIAM. Always.”

At 20, I think I am still a turtle, quite slow and sometimes awkward. But I am also an eagle, with wings that can fly.

Leave a Reply

