On Graduation Dresses and Being a Woman

My day began with me opening my laptop and checking the Internet for ideas on what to wear for my college graduation. I was still lost as a duckling, without any clear idea of what dress fits the occasion. I was present during last year’s graduation as I volunteered to hand out the diplomas to the 2012 graduates. Underneath their academic regalias were party dresses — strappy, tube, or bare back, among others. I, on the other hand, did not mind if the dress only had small straps but I was still more inclined to having it look prim and proper, more Duchess Kate, more Queen Rania Al Abdullah, more classic.

Queen Rania Al AbdullahFrom Google Images: Queen Rania Al Abdullah

That is when I discovered that today, March 8, is International Women’s Day. Today marks a day of love, respect, admiration, and appreciation for women all over the world.

Knowing that felt empowering especially since I have been feeling a little down these days due to my splotchy face where the cooler weather must have taken a toll on my skin, making it dry and appear reddish. I have to admit that it’s not making me feel fresh or pretty. I have been habitually using a moisturizer day and night but even then, my skin was still affected by the weather. (Or is it hormonal changes?) I pray that everything becomes well soon. My graduation day is nearing and I want to look happy and wonderful both inside and out because it is a special day for me. Even the difficulty of finding the dress is stressing me out.

So, I spent my whole morning reading about different influential women while searching for graduation dress ideas as well as watching Disney’s I Am a Princess, a video to empower even the youngest of girls. A little less than two minutes, I watched the video a couple of times, smiling at how it made even a 20-year-old like me feel inspired and good about myself. Unlike what others might be saying, I saw it as a way for girls to be reassured and encouraged that they are wonderful for who they are. I think the video actually remained true to how Walt Disney wanted it to be.

X Photo Walk - Moody Bokeh(c) A. Raperoga

I am a princess.
I am brave sometimes. I am scared sometimes. Sometimes, I am brave even when I am scared. I believe in loyalty and trust. I believe loyalty is built on trust. I try to be kind. I try to be generous. I am kind even when others are not so generous.
I am a princess.
I think standing up for myself is important. I think standing up for others is more important. But standing with others, is most important.
I am a princess.
I believe compassion makes me strong. Kindness is power. And family is the tightest bond of all. I have heard I am beautiful. I know I am strong.
“I promise and when I promise something, I never ever break that promise.” – Rapunzel
I am a princess. Long, may I reign.
– I Am A Princess, Disney

Aside from this video, learning about different women in seats of power gave me a boost of inspiration such as Mary McAleese, Sonia Gandhi, Angela Merkel, and Queen Rania of Jordan, among others.

Mary McAleese, Ireland’s president from 1997 to 2011, led her country to economic prosperity. Sonia Gandhi, India’s Prime Minister, began to serve the country when her husband, the Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, died. She is known to be the longest serving president as she was elected for four times already. Angela Merkel, Germany’s Chancellor, was a familiar name to me as my German and French friends spoke of her and these men actually highly respect her for her good leadership. Then there is Jordan’s Queen Rania Al Abdullah, who believes in global education. What makes her striking for me is her poise and elegance as a Queen and her dedication and passion for her work. She is now one of my pegs — a woman who ages glamorously.

Corazon Aquino on Time Magazine via nazcarpine.comFrom Google Images: Late Pres. Corazon Aquino

Who can forget other influential women over the past such as Marie Curie, Coco Chanel, Virginia Woolf, and my country’s very own Corazon Aquino? All these women have made their marks in different fields such as science, fashion, literature, and politics and have inspired so many people throughout and after their lifetime.

Thinking about all these makes me feel good and glad to be a woman.

LS Defense Edit3   (c) S. Buyco

Leave a Reply

