On Writing

I write with experiences in mind, but I don’t write about them, I write out of them. – John Ashbery

I believe I write about both. There are times that I tell my stories directly and have people take it as it is. Then there are times that I do not but each and every word chosen and placed one after the other were carefully chosen because it echoes the experience itself.

It is one thing to write about facts and research which need no feelings attached to them. Writing about your own stories is another matter. There is the baring of the self when one tells his story.

And when I write, I do.

It is not simply a paragraph or a sentence or a word.

It is I that is there.

It is I that you read.

Or perhaps I write too much with emotion and too little with logic. I write too much with heart and too little with mind. 

Leave a Reply

