Android Desserts

This post is quite random and takes on a brighter note despite the fact that whatever pushed me to write about this was also caused by something emotionally and physically exhausting. My curious mind was sparked by yesterday’s Statistics exam. 

It was quite a stressful day being up and about by 5:30am (studying for my Statistics exam and prepping for school) and school beginning at 9am and ending at 8pm. Despite the test draining all of my energy, one of the problem questions stuck to my mind and that was one which included Google’s different Android versions and their names which my professor used as variables. I smiled as I read the names because I initially thought he made it all up and the names for me, were all very cute and funny.

I admit I am not always updated with the latest in technology so finding out about the Android was also named according to different desserts was very amusing. It was very creative for me because not everyone would name such a techy thing much more an OS as “Cupcake” or “Ice Cream Sandwich.” The usual names are simply  Version 1.324923 or OS9348 or BSX1.5 or something really boring. So I must give credits to Google for giving some spunk to their Android versions.

Here they are:

Ice Cream Sandwich

Honeycomb

Gingerbread

 Froyo

Eclair

Donut

Cupcake

I even like the drawings associated with each version – it’s like a little cartoon mascot for each version to give each a distinct difference yet still be consistently the same. It began from always having a yellow green theme with a little robot with two antennae who disappeared during the froyo version (but was still green) and returned to the succeeding ones but not particular to any color theme anymore. 

My favorite is the Gingerbread doodle but I love Ice Cream hence that is the best name for an Android version for me. 

For future versions, why don’t they try: 

  • Brownies
  • Cookie
  • Marshmallow
  • S’more
  • Cinnamon Roll
  • Hot Fudge
  • Banana Split
  • Apple Pie (another favorite)

Of course they have to find ways to incorporate their little Android robot to each dessert. Meanwhile, this post just made me want to eat the donuts bought earlier by my mom. 

Leave a Reply

