The journey begins with a single step

“Of journeying the benefits are many: the freshness it bringeth to the heart, the seeing and hearing of marvelous things, the delight of beholding new cities, the meeting of unknown friends, and the learning of high manners.”

– Musli-uddin Sadi

In 18 days I’ll be leaving my comfort zone – the home where I have lived and grown to love for 18 years of my life. I’ll be leaving the Philippines and off to a new world altogether to study for a couple months.

I had been meaning to make this post a week ago if not for a fever which I suddenly had for two days. Those days were spent entirely sleeping and the days that followed were for recovery – no tv, no computer, nothing. The best thing perhaps that came out of this sickness was of my realization that things would not be the same when I’m on my own. My mom was up the whole night to give me medicine, water, or Gatorade or simply check if I was all right already. My grandmother too, during the next day, made lugaw for me and made sure I was okay. My heart was full of gratitude for them and perhaps I had to get sick so I would know the value of having a family more. They are really the ones who will be there for me no matter what.

I really never thought I’d be in this position right now. Back in high school, there were also offers of studying abroad but my parents thought I was not yet ready for I was too young at 14 or 15. Am I ready now then? I don’t really know and I wouldn’t really know. As my professor says, when are we ever ready for anything? At times, we simply jump without looking or take a step in the darkness with no way of finding out what will happen to us until we are simply there in the moment itself. What I know however is that in life, there are no accidents. What has happened, what is happening, and what will happen are all part of the plan made by the One above. I then believe that this is the right time for me. After years of waiting, this is it. It’s time to begin the journey far away from home.

Needless to say, I don’t think I ever stopped making that journey for I have already started it from the moment I was born.  It is perhaps just another path that has opened itself to me and which I chose to take, another chapter to continue the story that I have been always writing, and another experience to enrich the Mai-Mai that is of now for her to become the Mai-Mai that will be.

One thought on “The journey begins with a single step

Leave a Reply

